CV Tech inducts students into National Technical Honor Society

CHICKASHA, OK  – Canadian Valley Technology Center’s Chickasha campus recently inducted 33 students into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS). Sixteen second and third-year honorees were also recognized during the ceremony.

Zack McGill, of HSI Sensing, spoke to the honorees during the ceremony and encouraged them to seek out skills and education, but also foster relationships with others.  He continued on to encourage the students to find a career based on passion, rather than money, and emphasized the importance of learning a skill and engaging in lifelong learning.

NTHS is an organization to honor student achievement and leadership, promote educational excellence, and enhance career opportunities for the NTHS membership. As NTHS members, students pledge to strive to maintain the high ideals of service to mankind, personal integrity, and of friendship and loyalty.

To be eligible for CV Tech’s NTHS membership students must have a 93 percent average, one or more faculty and/or staff recommendations, no more than three absences in a semester, and active involvement in student government, Career and Technology student organizations, civic or service organization(s).

2013-14 NTHS inductees:

Auto Body Technology: Tyler Slabaugh, Ninnekah High School

Auto Service Technology: Clay Chaney, Ninnekah High School; Anthony Mainka, Alex High School

Business Office Technology: Breane Smith, Chickasha High School; Nichole O’Briant, homeschooled

Computer Aided Drafting and Design: Casey Higgins, Rush Springs High School; Grant Trammell, Chickasha High School

Computer Info Systems: Mason Schmidt, Chickasha High School

Early Care and Education: Katie Spradling and Haley Davis, Amber-Pocasset High School; Karla Longoria and Nicole Moore, Chickasha High School

Graphic Design: Alanah Barlow, adult; Brittany-Jo Pettijohn, Alex High School; Rachel Young, Ninnekah High School

Health Careers: Caleb Williams, Rush Springs High School; Hunter Want and Samantha Chaney, Ninnekah High School

Interactive Media & Web Technology: Tanner Charlson and Juan Charqueno, Chickasha High School; Charlie Gray, Amber-Pocasset High School

Practical Nursing: Katie Mercer, adult

Precision Machining: Brendan Clark, homeschooled; Trevor Burnes, adult

Service Careers: Jason Couch, Chickasha High School; Gavin Watson, Joe Mitchell and Dallas Mills, Tuttle High School

Surgical Technology: Toni Loyd, Taylor Holsey and Adam Ferris, adults

2nd Year honorees: Brandon Anderson, adult, Shaylah Drake, Chickasha High School; Shawnie Osborne, Chickasha High School; Kelby Henderson, Alex High School; Austin Patterson, Verden High School; Madison Rivas, Chickasha High School; LeeAnna White, Tuttle High School, Kenley Yeargin, Ninnekah High School; Tessa Langford, Alex High School; Ashlee Chilton, Chickasha High School; Kaitlyn Souders, Amber-Pocasset High School; Colton Prince, Tuttle High School; Micah Trabert-Moore, Chickasha High School; and David Soto, adult.

3rd Year honorees: Amanda Delong, adult; and Destiny Hanley, Tuttle High School